“Facing the Giants”

facingthegiants.jpgAlex Kendrick
Shannen Fields
James Blackwell
Bailey Chase
Steve Williams
Tracy Goode
Jim McBride
Tommy McBride
Jason McLeod
Chris Willis
Ray Wood
Mark Richt

PG           111min           2006

“Facing the Giants” is about An unsuccessful coach facing dismissal from the boosters and the prospect of infertility finds inspiration from an unexpected source, he turns to GOD for help. He challenges his players to believe in GOD for the impossible on and off the field. When faced with unbelievable odds, the Eagles must step up to their greatest test of strength and courage. This is a dynamic story of the fight between faith and fear. Facing the Giants is a powerful experience for the whole family inspiring viewers to live with faith, hope, and love!

Volunteers, from the Sherwood Baptist Church in Albany, Georgia, made this film. It has a strong Christian message that is told in an entertaining film. Even with the untrained talent they give believable performances, which is help by a script that you believe is coming from this characters.

The Sherwood Baptist Church in Albany, Georgia made “Facing the Giants” to benefit a youth center for the church. It also does a good job of spreading the values of Christianity. For some the Christianity message may overwhelm them and come off a little too preachy. If you keep an open mind you can accept the message and the story being told.

Aside from the Christian message this is a predictable but entertaining film as well. The untrained talent pulls this film off. I think its because they are untrained that makes this film believable. You’re seeing everyday people make a film with passion that is lacking in many major blockbusters. Personal I don’t think Hollywood could have done a better job.

“Facing the Giants” is a film that everyone should see but will not appeal to everyone, for a number of reasons. The acting in this film may put off many viewers. The Christian message may put viewers as well. If you can over look the unpolished actors and the preachy Christian message you will find an entertaining film that the entire family can see.

I give it 3/5 Gs.

3 Responses to “Facing the Giants”

  1. Monique says:

    Hi there,

    My name is Monique & I’m part of the PR team for Sherwood Pictures–creators of FACING THE GIANTS.
    Thank you so much for supporting the movie on your blog! We wanted to keep you informed of their latest project–FIREPROOF.
    It’s due to hit theaters this September in theaters nationwide. You can go to http://www.fireproofthemovie.com to view the trailer, read the synopsis, and sign up for updates to stay up to date with all of the FIREPROOF happenings! If you’re interested in learning more or need any resource, pictures, and downloads for your blog please email me at monique@lovell-fairchild.com and I will be happy to get you what you need.

    Again, thanks for blogging!
    Monique
    Lovell-Fairchild Communications

  2. David Honeycutt says:

    I live in Germany. My mother sent me the movie Facing The Giants. I’m 46 years old and I have Emphysemen in my Lungs. I can’t hardly do anything without having to take a break to catch my breath. I don’t go to church but I do believe in God. After watching your movie, twice in a row. I had to think about the part that god leaves a door open. I think he will also leave one open for me. I want too thank you for making such a movie that I beleave will help others as myself.
    Thank You
    D. Honeycutt

  3. jackwbruce says:

    I enjoyed this movie as well. I watched it a couple of times with my daughters. I, too, wrote a blog on Facing the Giants where I expressed one concern. You can find it at
    http://wp.me/pBhtB-3K

Leave a Reply

